Shohreh Aghdashloo: The Voice of Sci-Fi

Shohreh Aghdashloo at the TIFF premiere of September Of Shiraz
Photo Source: Wikipedia

I finally go around to watching Star Trek: Beyond recently. While I watched, only half paying attention, I heard a voice that has become all too familiar to me. It was a deep, raspy voice. Proud and dominant. I turned to the screen to see a face I had come to expect.

Shoreh Aghdashloo is not a name I would have recognized without google. But now I know her face, and more so her distinctive voice. She is an actor with a long and impressive resume. But she came strongly into my notice while playing a certain little game called Mass Effect 2. She voiced a Quarian, a character who was permanently masked. All the character had to define herself was a voice, and it was the perfect one. Shoreh also voiced that character in the sequel game, and different character in the blockbuster game Destiny.

She also starred in several Sci-Fi/Fantasy film series including X-Men, Percy Jackson and Star Trek. But the role that probably gives her the crown as a queen of S.F. was that of a scheming diplomat in the breakout TV series the Expanse, easily one of the best S.F. shows of the century. The success of the show, its presentation and depth, was Shoreh’s incredible performance.

There is something unique about her voice that lends itself so well to Sci-Fi. I’m not really sure what that is exactly, maybe the deep earthiness to it, maybe the raspy otherworldliness–probably the combination of the two.

Whatever the case, I truly hope she continues taking on those pillar S.F. supporting roles she is now known for. Her iconic voice is one bit of solace to be found in the chaos of the stars.

 

Leave a Reply

