​My page got torn apart by an editor and it was awesome!

Learning how to accept criticism–and use it–is essential for any writer. Writing is not internal or personal; the very act of writing something down is to bring your thoughts into public view. Criticism is necessary to understand how your audience is interpreting your text, which is often different than what you expect when you produce the piece. This article is a good examination of necessary transition from resistant to accepting of negative feedback. I don’t think I could have written it any better.

Anything Goes

Okay, that was an exaggeration. My page didn’t get torn apart. The comments were constructive and I’m thankful I had the opportunity to even show an editor, who is already so busy with their day job, something I had written.

Knowing that I had the option to react as though my world was ending but instead choosing to react as though my life just became brighter is one of the best feelings imaginable—at least for me, because choosing to react this way didn’t develop overnight.

It used to be unthinkable to let anyone know writing was my hobby, but somewhere along the way, criticism became something I accept.

Now I feel one part upset and two parts grateful whenever I receive this level of concrit for my work, so I was surprised when I felt only a twinge of ouch. The rest was pure excitement.

I suppose it helps that…

View original post 211 more words

One thought on “​My page got torn apart by an editor and it was awesome!

Leave a Reply

