DSF – How Like the Ring

Here is a very well-written piece. It is real and grounded, and perhaps that is why I don’t like it that much.

To me, this story exists without any need for its speculative elements. The zero-g floating ring is mostly visual flare and you could get much the same effect on the ground in various ways. I like my science fiction to have a purpose in being science fiction. I know I’m not the only one. I once had a story rejected for not being fantasy enough. The editor said there was not enough in the story to prove it wasn’t just middle ages Earth. In reflection, I actually agreed with the point. If you’re going to write SF, make sure the speculative elements are a core component to the story. Otherwise write lit. But maybe that’s just me.

It still is a pretty good flash piece, so I thought I’d share it. Head over to the Daily Science Fiction page and give the author some rockets.


How Like the Ring

In zero gravity he played a game with my wedding ring, throwing it at my finger and seeking to snare it, me trying to catch it on my outstretched finger. A game of horseshoes and hearts, he said, and we laughed… READ MORE
Leave a Reply

