REBLOG: Are You Spoiling Your King With These Simple Mistakes?

I must admit, as a military man who has lived in East Asia for almost a decade, I do not have a healthy relationship with authority. I, perhaps, give those in charge too much credit and power.

Properly developing the authority figures in my stories has been a struggle. Thus far, I have often avoided placing them in the limelight and have limited politics to the back story. Victor offers some good ideas about avoiding cliches and cardboard characters when writing your authority figures.

I think this also can be expanded to politics in general, in that you should avoid overly simplistic relationships of power and understand that there are a lot of moving pieces in a political relationship. Also you should understand that the balance of power is a front line that often shifts. This is something I need to do better in my own writing.

I hope Victor’s short tip here is as helpful to you as it is to me.

Victor Poole

How to capture the reality of authority.

I started a business once (spoiler alert: it failed miserably).

The first thing I learned was that being in charge is nothing like you think it will be.

After my first business failed, I started another one, and when it failed, I started another one.

As I went through the different iterations of my boss-self, I learned more and more about how employees react to employers, how people outside the company think and change towards you as an authority figure, and, most importantly, how much you have to rely on yourself in order to succeed.

Here are a few pitfalls to avoid when writing a king as a character:

  1. The King is an impersonal figure who issues commands
  2. The guards are loyal and responsible
  3. The King gets mad when he is not obeyed

Now, here are examples that incorporate the falling-into and successful avoidance of these…

View original post 443 more words

Leave a Reply

