Writing Updates

I’ve been pretty bad at updating this blog during the past few weeks. I’ve been on military orders and my work with the Army had been a lot more intense and rigorous than I expected. Add to that the deep academic nature of much of what I do, which tends to leave my brain melted at the end of the day. It’s an excuse, I know, but I haven’t yet figured out how to break through.

That’s not to suggest that things haven’t been happening with my writing. I have quite a few stories coming out this month in external publication. I’ve just seen the proofs for the two Bards and Sages issues I have stories in, and I must say, they look really nice. One is the July issue of the quarterly, which will feature one of my Iric flash stories. The other will be released in their Great Tome of Magicians, Necromancers and Mystics, and is related to my stone-age fantasy story that was published on Bewildering Stories. Both of the B&S works will be out in print.

I’ve received a couple more acceptances with publishers I’ve worked with before. Two stories will be published by Fantasia Divinity, one in their monthly magazine and one in an upcoming anthology. I also had another story accepted by Antipodean SF.

Speaking of Anti-SF, my story Webs was published in their previous ezine issue and will come out on the radio show a the end of July. I will post a link once the episode is out.

I’ve got another story awaiting a final read with The Centropic Oracle and some other stories pending with a few different anthologies. Nothing is set, but I have pretty good feelings about making most of them.

While a lot of things have been happening on the short fiction side of the fence, the book side is still a struggle. I haven’t received a positive reply from a single agent yet. I’ve queried about 50 agents in total, 19 are pending. It’s looking more and more like my innovative novel structure is too much for agents to want to take on. I might have to consider an alternate publishing route with this one. Maybe submitting directly to smaller publishers might be the better course.

My work with Fiction Vortex has also stagnated a bit. The Of Metal and Magic StoryVerse–which I am a founding member of–just lost an author. We’ve had to push back our deadlines and release plans, and this has taken a lot of the wind from our sails. Things are still progressing, albeit slowly. I have the first two episodes of my series Call of the Guardian drafted and plan to write the next soon, once I can get past this slump and get back into writing. The cover for my project is almost done as well, and I will be sharing that once I have it.

One of the cool things about writing for FV is that the company takes care of most of the marketing and publishing work. They get the covers made, provide editing services, and provide an app and website to distribute your work. They also have a marketting team that operates on various social media platforms. It really is a great place to work. If you are a sword&sorcery writer, why not submit a sample and try to join Of Metal and Magic? If our StoryVerse head lets you in, you’ll be working with me directly! If you’re interested, contact me on Facebook and I can help facilitate the submission process.

Well, that’s about all for now. I hope everyone is seeing progress with your writing projects. Keep up the fight!

~J.M.

2 thoughts on “Writing Updates

Leave a Reply

